Hello everyone!

I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas.  As some of you may or may not know, I was stricken with an illness back in October.  I really don’t like to share or talk about my personal life with many people, but due to my illness, I got behind on some of my bills and one of those bills was my Comcast service.

Unfortunately, I did not make the deadline to catch the bill up and so I was without internet services for a little while.  I’ve been playing catch up with everything, because when I got sick and was out of work for almost two weeks, I had no savings, no nest egg, nothing, to help me catch up.

So for a week, I lived pretty much ‘off-the-grid’.  I felt like I was living in another decade, another time.  With today’s technology comes an extreme sense of ‘connectivity’.  It seems as though everything is connected, everything is seemingly at the tips of your fingers.

It was interesting to live a week without being able to just Google something, or hop on Facebook, or be ‘connected’.  I do not have data service on my cell phone, so the only time I was able to ‘connect’ back into the grid was when I was at the library or my mother’s house and I only connected for brief moments of time.

Today I was able to catch up and reconnect my internet services.  It’s odd to be reconnected to the ‘grid’ after all this time off.  But that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the week long solitude.  News travels much slower when you are off the grid.  I did not know about the recent celebrity deaths until a day or two after the fact, for instance.  I think, as a society, we travel at the speed of light and forget to slow down and reevaluate.

During my time off the grid, I was able to focus more on my writing of the 3rd book, Cursed.  I am now on Chapter Six and going of the novel.  I was also able to catch up on some cleaning that I had been putting off.  I also rediscovered the joy of sitting down and just watching a DVD movie.  So while some may feel that not being connected to the ‘grid’ is devastating, I have found that I can still function without being connected.

I recommend treating yourself to some downtime every once in a while.  It’s always a good idea to recharge and re-energize yourself without the constant hustle and bustle of the high paced society that we now live in.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog.  As progress ensues on Cursed, I will be updating periodically on this blog and through the Facebook Page.  Stop back by anytime.  Take care!

Leave a Reply

