I was at a local store picking up my prescriptions when the young clerk behind the counter said “I know you.  I bought your book.  I recognize you from your picture.” I immediately froze, like a deer in headlights, because I am a shy person by nature.  I try to avoid the limelight, huge crowds of people, etc.  After I unfroze, I admitted that I was the author of the book and asked her what she thought of it.  She told me that she hadn’t gotten to read it yet.  I sort of breathed a small sigh of relief because I have caused eyes to widen and heads to turn with the content I decided to cover in my first set of books.

Writing can be challenging.  I decided to tackle several controversial issues with my first series of books and these books are dark, more seriously toned, than what people close to me would have thought I would have written about.  I didn’t choose to write for fame.  Admittedly, I could have chosen a ‘pen name’ to have a certain anonymity, but I didn’t want that starting out.  I wanted to be recognized as myself, not a false pen name, for my writing; however, I never thought about the ramifications of not using a pen name.

My thoughts harken to remembered cases of famous people being stalked and harmed.  Jodie Foster and John Lennon as well as President Reagan come to mind.  The price of fame can be tough, even devastating, for those not ready to be thrust into the limelight.  I’m hardly famous by any means but I am starting to be recognized and it’s unsettling to think of something like “Misery” happening to me.  Sure, it’s a stretch of my writer’s imagination to think of something as terrifying as “Misery” happening but there is always that slim chance that an unbalanced individual could possible come after me.

I will continue to write and use my real name.  I feel it’s too late to go backwards and try to hide.  My work is out there.  People are starting to know about me, with their opinions either good or bad.

Thanks for stopping by to read my blog.  If I don’t write again here before the holidays, have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

